Guilt Free Eggplant Parmesean

538100_10151351842410326_1321919986_nI love comfort food, and of course Italian food. Hearty home cooked meals were always my specialty, but led to a lot of growing waistlines in our house. I wanted to create a healthy clean version of one fo  my favorite dishes, eggplant parmesean. Actually pretty darn easy, but I wanted to add this to the blog to show you that eating healthy and clean doesn’t need to be difficult AND cooking a delicious and beautiful meal doesn’t need to take all day or require a culinary degree!

I like to eat eggplant whenever I can, because I like it! My husband does not, and while he travels on business I load up on this yummy veggie 🙂 It’s also super nutritious. Eggplant is a good source of fiber, source of Vitamin B and minerals such as magnesium and manganese. Purple eggplant contains a substance called Anthocyanin. Anthocyanins can prevent high blood pressure, hepatosis (disease due to deficiency of vitamin E or selenium), and enhance vision at night.

I like to serve this with a salad on the side, and if you’re feeding a crowd or maybe others who aren’t as into gluten free, organic clean eating type things, you can throw some pasta on the side. I chose to serve a caprese salad on the side because its my favorite, also I had the ingredients on hand and I recently purchased the Blaze Fig and Balsamic Glaze and I am addicted to itI  But any side salad will do, or none at all, whatever you want!

This dish is probably the easiest thing I can think of. My version is not dairy free, but you can easily substitute the grated cheese for something like Daiya Mozarella Shreds, they are pretty good too.

Guilt Free Eggplant Parmesean

What You need

  • 1 Large Purple Eggplant (you can probably use whatever eggplant you like best)
  • Tomato Sauce
  • Shredded Cheese, Italian Blend  (about 8 oz)
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Fresh Basil for garnish

What you do

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees and wipe the baking dish with some olive oil
  2. Slice the eggplant thickly (about half inch)
  3. Layer half the sliced eggplant in the dish, drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.
  4. Spoon some of the tomato sauce evenly over the eggplant and top with half the cheese.
  5. Create another layer with the rest of the eggplant, season with salt and pepper, cover with sauce and cheese
  6. Bake about 20 minutes – until eggplant is tender and cheese is melted and browning slightly
  7. Remove from the oven, garnish with basil serve and EAT!

You can find the recipe for the caprese salad here

Leave a Reply

